New to the forum, not to the diving

southern maine diver

Feb 24, 2007
South Berwick, Maine
Hello all. I'm new to the forum, although I have read many of the threads, and I thought I'd introduce myself. I am a "light" commercial diver, primarily involved in hull cleaning, underwater construction and inspections and I spend my off time hunting for old bottles. I've been diving for 37 years, having been certified at 15 and have over 12,000 dives.

I am interested in constructing a "blower" prop wash deflector for my 225 hp outboard. I am looking for any info or plans for the construction. I have several shallow water areas of interest and would like to build one over the winter before the boat goes back into the water. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Wayne ;)

Tom and Darren...

Thank you both for the warm welcome. I look forward to chatting with you all. As soon as I dig out my digital camera and change the batteies, I'll be posting a photo of the Iberian Olive Jar/Spanish Storage Jar I found last year in about 55' of water here in northern New England. It is whole, no damage and was found lying next to a granite mooring block covered mostly in mud. I just caught a glimps of the lip and a bit of the shoulder and dug out a beauty!

It was found in the Piscataqua River which borders New Hampshire and Maine and it was located about 7 miles inland from the mouth of the river. I have checked the immediate area and have found no other pieces, fragments , but the visibility is terrible and the current is very strong, so I will return this spring.

I was interested in the threads about the Hummingbird 987-c. I have a Fisher Drop Video camera, but the visibility was so bad, I didn't see much. I thought the Hummingbird would do better. Any ideas about this?

Anyway, thanks again for the warm welcome and I look forward to sharing some thoughts with you all.

Wayne ;)