Mid-Missouri
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Garrett Ace 350
Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all!
My name is Chris. I'm new to the forum. I've been detecting for 2-3 years now. My first detector was a Bounty Hunter 505, & I recently purchased a Garrett AT Pro.
Here are some pics from a hunt a couple weeks ago (with the 505. It is a coin-finding machine, if nothing else!) at an old place near where I live. This building and grounds have been around from at least the 1940's or so, having been used for many purposes throughout the years (bars, restaurant, local KC Club, etc.). I know the current owner & he gladly granted permission to hunt.
I've been detecting here 3 or four times with mixed results. There is a ton of trash (bottle caps, pull tabs, etc) everywhere on the place, making hunting a little difficult. On one past hunt I even found a gold men's wedding band (which I never photographed. I'm not sure why?? Anyway, the band is gone. It was used to partially fund the purchase of the AT Pro. :happysmiley:) On this hunt, I found a handful of clads here and there throughout the morning, and was about to quit for the day when my detector started acting crazy over one particular spot. It was over the driveway, which is loose gravel. I half expected to see tabs and caps, so I halfheartedly raked at the gravel with my foot. I saw a couple coins, so I kneeled-down & started raking at it with my fingers. Out popped more and more! This was a recent spill, from the past couple years or so, as the place has been closed for at least a year. I ended up with a huge handful of change from this one spot. I think there might be a few more coins in the packed gravel beneath, but it started to rain, so I gave up & put my stuff away. I also found an IPhone on the place beneath the grass and leaves. The screen was crushed.