Newer cars are better

piegrande

Bronze Member
May 16, 2010
I see beautiful old cars and drool just like most men. But if I had to drive one, I wouldn't take it as a gift.

I remember well. Constantly fiddling with the points and the timing and carburetors. I realize I was driving very used cars, but that is not the problem.

My 2002 Sienna was by far the best car I ever owned. It went to 222,000 miles, and if I hadn't wanted to live in Mexico more than I wanted that car, it would have been the last car I ever owned. As a permanent resident I could no longer import my car. When I donated it to a Bible Institute, it started and ran perfectly. If I had wanted to drive to Alaska, all it needed would be balancing the tires.

For fifteen years, If I wanted to go to Mexico, jump in it and drive to the border. There were several minor problems in Mexico, but in every case, except when the battery failed, I could wait until I drove over 800 miles back to Texas for a minor part.

We made a lot of long trips from Texas. Maine; Florida; Virginia, Illiinois. We would leave in the morning and sleep around 700 miles from home. Do our family visiting for a week or so, then go home again. And, it was not necessary to even check the oil during that trip. Loved that wonderful car.

OP
OP
P

piegrande

Bronze Member
May 16, 2010
Oops! I forgot the bulbs. When the car was new I was concerned about the external lights. If a bulb fails, you may end up talking to the cops so I asked on a once great car forum how long bulbs lasted so I could change them out before the cops stopped me.

I got answers mostly around never fail. Yes, they never fail which is why every drugstore sells automobile bulbs, right?