Noob here, got a question...

supafly136

May 12, 2008
Detector(s) used
Whites Spectra V3i
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
ok ive been lookin round and this seems to be the most active spot for prospecting. (nice site!)
heres the deal: about 40 yrs ago a couple of my relatives put about 50 to 75 gold coins in a roughly quart sized glass jar with a metal lid. im sure the metal has dissolved lol. it was buried about 4ft deep.

we recently rented an old whites metal detector for 25bux and took some shovels to the site which is at the edge of a farm field. im new to this so because we new within a 20ft x 20ft area where it would be, i assumed we could take off a foot or so at a time and scan with the metal detecor as we dug. unfortunately the ground was wetter than i thought and after bout 18in, everything we dug filled up with water lol. now from what i understand, even the best detector can only find a gold coin on average, about 18 inch max. correct me if im wrong. so i was thinkin bout renting or purchasing the system b, electroscope by thomas. ive heard good and bad things bout them. since we have it narrowed down to a small area, perhaps not extending the antennae all the way out, and being practically on top of the coins, we can narrow it down to 3ft by 3ft. so thats the jist of it. any ideas?

thx in advance.
supafly136

Cynangyl

Gold Member
Apr 12, 2007
God's lap
Detector(s) used
X-terra 70
ACE 250
Well welcome to Tnet! Glad you joined us! There are cache detectors that I am sure you could use as well. Many refer to them as two box detectors and they can search a much deeper area like you are talking about. The Fisher Gemini 3 is one of the 2 box detectors that would work for what you are talking about. I don't know what area you are in so I am not sure who the Fisher dealer would be close to you but I am sure you can check at Fisher labs online and find out. Best of luck to you and again, welcome to Tnet!

OP
OP
S

supafly136

May 12, 2008
Detector(s) used