PLat books or maps

sndman60

Jan 31, 2008
Williamsburg, VA
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX 300
Ok, this question may sound elementary for most of you. But, I thought I saw something somewhere here on TNET about plat books or maps. I am very new to doing any research of this kind. I think, if memory serves me, I read that plats can give land owner and area 411. So now, how do you find plats? Thanks for all the help and assistance you can provide.

Gary

OP
OP
sndman60

sndman60

Jan 31, 2008
Williamsburg, VA
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX 300
Really, thanks a ton. This is a great start. Now to just take the 411 and put it to great use. Thanks again.

Gary

LadyDigger

Bronze Member
Jun 7, 2006
Virginia Beach
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Gary,

If you can, you can try to courthouses too...both in Norfolk and Virginia Beach. Also remember, much of Norfolk's court records may also be in the Chesapeake courts, as Chesapeake was at one time part of Norfolk. As one clerk there told me, when I asked why she had records there with NORFOLK on them....they, the City of Chesapeake, felt those books should be in their courthouse since it was on their land, now the City of Chesapeake, even though it was part of Norfolk County at the time....

If I'm not mistaken, the Virginia Beach Central Library .... I believe they have maps too....my hubby said they did, I haven't been in a while to check it out. Also, try the Kirns Library in Norfolk...also the historical societies in Va Beach and Norfolk.

I have found the folks at these courthouses very helpful...atleast they were to me :)

Good Luck!
Annmarie
PS: have you gotton down to Witchduck Road yet to detect? I haven't...been so busy. I hope I can get there next week...it's past the 4-6 week window the City Manager told me to wait....good luck if you do. Maybe I'll see you there.

jaggyd

Jan 2, 2008
I have looked at the sanborn maps before, but I don't find virginia beach as an option. Anyone know how to look for that?

OP
OP