Please help the Newbie

Hellcat

Jul 8, 2008
Scotland
Detector(s) used
A cheap one
Hey there folks! I'm completely new to this.......don't beat me, but I don't even have a detector yet. That's kind of why I'm here - do you guys have any advice on buying one?

I was looking through websites but seem to be at a slight loss.

I came across this one; http://www.abmetaldetectors.com/acatalog/metal-detector-combos.html#a74 - it's a starter pack so I figured that would be good for a newb, yes? Like I said, if you have any advice, it would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I was just wondering how y'all got into this yourselves. Your stories will be read with interest.

Cheers, people!

~Vic~

First use a company from the list of sponsers here. That way you'll have some recourse if things turn ugly. Next talk to the rep about what kind of hunting you wanna do, water, woods, beaches, parks, gold feilds etc...
Then what ever you do start cheap, I know allot of people will disagree with me here. But better to waist a little money rather than allot only to find you don't really wanna continue in this hobby. There's allot of detectors gathering dust in people closets out there. Course you could buy a top of the line detector and hope for a good resale value. But that's allot riskier in this economy. :wink:

Hey dude, thanks. I will definately check the sponsors - got any from the UK though? I'm guessing postage to Scotland will be about half the price of the detector!

And that's a good point about starting cheap - I've heard alot of stories from people who forked out lots o moolah for a hobby only to give it up after a week or so.

I may be wrong, cause I've never dealt with them But I believe Kelly Co. is world wide and they carry pretty much every kind of detector. :wink:

Still think you should call them and get their input first as to what type of hunting you wanna do vs the prices etc....