Scrapping Brass?

mnplumberman

Greenie
Jan 1, 2008
Hey everyone,
I am new to scrapping, have scrapped copper pipe a few times. I am in the plumbing and heating industry and have access to plenty of scrap metals. Up until now we have had a guy that takes everything but the copper, but I figure why should I give up this free money.
I have been reading about scrapping Brass, and I see that there are lots of different types of Brass. I also see brass described as "Clean."
Can I scrap all brass out together, or do I need to sort it? If it has to be sorted, is there an easy way to do that?
Any info on scrapping Brass would be appreciated.
Thanks for the help
D

Bigcypresshunter

Gold Member
Dec 15, 2004
South Florida
Detector(s) used
70's Whites TM Amphibian, HH Pulse, Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Only two types of brass that I know of and that is red brass and yellow brass. You can tell the difference by the color. I think red brass is actually Bronze.
"Clean Brass" means that it has no solder on it or any metal attached such as screws.

It pays to separate the clean from the other because the clean pays more. There is also clean copper. Copper with solder should be seperated if they will not pay full price for it. All metal or plastic, screws or brackets should always be removed from copper or brass to get top price.

You can also sell aluminum or lead.

OP
OP
M

mnplumberman

Greenie
Jan 1, 2008
Thanks alot for the info, i called my local scrap yard and got some info on prices, and how they prefer things to be broken down and separated.
Appreciate the help
D

2muchstuff

Dec 27, 2007
Just south of St. Louis, Mo.
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTAX 1000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
bigcypresshunter said:
You can tell the difference by the color. I think red brass is actually Bronze.
Red brass is Bronze, it contains more copper. Most of your larger pipe fittings are bronze.