Sharing the knowledge

triplehooked

Jul 21, 2010
Elmdale, Michigan
Detector(s) used
Currently back to a Vx3 withe D2 coil ti'l I can save for the V3i. Previous detectors include: Cz3d, CZ20, Vx3, Explorer SE Pro, XLT, MXTx2, Classic ID, Vaquero, Cibola, F2, Ace 150
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm fairly new to metal detecting, just starting this summer. But I've owned four detectors (all quality brands) and have found clad, silver, and some relics in a variety of places.....beaches, school yards, tot lots, etc.... So when I read an ad in the local small town paper looking for an "experienced" metal detectorist, I thought that I could at least act like I know what I'm doing. I mean, I do have a MXT, and a Lesche, that's half way there, right? :laughing9: Anyways, I called the number and talked with a gruff older gentleman who was having a hard time finding anything with his Classic III. He was looking for someone to help him check out an older home in town on a double lot which he had permission to hunt. I had to laugh, as he made it clear up front that he's not paying anyone to come out and hunt! Turns out his wife passed away not long ago and he picked up a metal detector for a new hobby, but didn't quite learn how it worked. Well, we met up at his place, and I threw some coins on the ground to get his settings right and make sure his detector was working properly, then we set off for the house. We didn't strike it rich, but found some cool stuff. Sprinkler head, spark plug, an old shovel, odds and ends, two wheaties, and about 50c in clad. But it did the heart good to see that grizzled old man look up and smile as he pulled a piece of what not from the ground. A smile that I'm sure hasn't crossed his face in quite a while. Now I'm as busy as the next guy. Married, four kids (three of which are triplets, ie triplehooked), job, school, etc... But I found it just as thrilling as a 50's rosie dime to know I helped someone who could really use it. We only h