Silver Nugget?

MichiganMan

Jun 13, 2008
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
Detector(s) used
A cheap one until I can decide on a very good brand-name one to buy.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Look what I found yesterday. I do not want to say where I found it [here in Michigan] until I know more about it. It makes the highest pitch sound and pegs the sensitivity meter [past 10] on my cheap VLF KellyCo. detector. I put ice on it and it started melting immediately [1 to 2 seconds]. The next question is... Is this a "natural" nugget or a man-made object nuggetized by melting, and the ravages of time and mother nature? The matte effect is where I tried to smash it between two rocks to see if it was just a rock or painted rock. As you can tell I am a rookie at silver identification. It weighs 5 grams.

DSC_0004%201_zpso3kxgxl7.jpg
DSC_0005%201_zpsgt3q3uji.jpg
DSC_0006%201_zpslr1eermr.jpg
DSC_0007%201_zpscv63yxbt.jpg
DSC_0008%201_zpshuqb1umv.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 3

pa-dirt_nc-sand

Silver Member
Apr 18, 2016
South Western PA
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
ACE 250 with DD coil
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I find blobs of aluminum that look a lot like your nugget quite often. Found a couple today at lunch at an old farm homesite, rings up nice and high. Old camp fires, beer can thrown in equals nuggets of aluminum in the ground.

CoinFetcher

Bronze Member
Apr 29, 2012
Left coast
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Love to treasure hunt
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It's a blob of melted metal from a fire. Probably a can.

ecmjamsit

Dec 2, 2007
Colorado
Detector(s) used
Whites Goldmaster GMT, GMII,Whites Sierra Super Trac, Ace250, Teknetics Gamma 6000, Whites Pinpointer,Garrett Pro Pointer II
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Silver acid tester kit ? ebay sells them for under $10

sgtled3533

Apr 12, 2016
Fresno, Ca
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used