The noose is tightening....

midntmn

Dec 15, 2011
one of the 13 colonies
Primary Interest:
Other
One of my local supplier banks (NOVA area) will now start charging $25 per ordered box of halfs. I have been ordering 6 boxes/week from them for several years. Their explanation was that their supplier (Dunbar) just raised their fee to the bank from $18 to $25 per box and the bank decided to pass the whole cost onto the ordering customer. My initial reaction was that I would no longer order from that bank. I did request additional boxes from some of the other banks I use that do not charge a delivery fee. The conundrum is that boxes from this particular bank have been the most consistent provider of "keepers", even though Dunbar also services some of the other pick-up banks I use. Like everyone else, I can go through extended periods of not finding anything. With 6 boxes at $25 each, getting into the red can be a real short trip. But I can also have a run where I am finding much more than $25 in value from each box.

My decision was to cut my order to 2 boxes/week from that bank, then reassess after a few weeks. I am willing to give the bank $50/week for a few weeks. After all they supported my habit for free for a few years. If I can average a plus value after several weeks, then I will stick with that plan, which still puts me in position to grab that monster box of 20 to 40 keepers that shows up every so often. If the positive return just isn't there, then I will just have to rely more on the other banks.

The big issue here, though, is that if one bank is charging an ordering fee, will others follow. At $25/box, the math does not favor us. Are others running into this, too?

Upvote 0

BuffaloBoy

Gold Member
Feb 16, 2011
America
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
i would not pay a penny for a box of coins, let alone $25... think, you're paying $0.50 per roll extra, is it REALLY worth it?

Brush64

Oct 30, 2011
Primary Interest:
Other