What should I offer for silver coins?

bigtime400

Jan 27, 2007
the moon
There is a teller that has been picking through coins for quite a while. She doesn't really collect the stuff but she keeps it and sells it to dealers. She was really nice. Showed me what she has found recently. One of them was a 45 S nickle that was in good shape. I needed it for one of my sets so I offered her a buck for it. She took it. She was telliing me about some things she had. for instance a couple rolls of indian head pennies, morgan dollar,... etc. My questions is what do you think would be a fair price to offer her for her silver coins that would be better then a dealer would give? She said the dealer offered her $4 for all 3 rolls of indian head cents I thought that was low, and $10 for the morgan. Now that seems about right for a type morgan. Do any of you guys run across this? What do you do?

Upvote 0

LJ

Silver Member
Dec 23, 2006
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination but $4 for the 3 rolls does sound low....I agree with you on that. I guess when it comes right down to it....what is it worth to you?? If it was me....I would give her $10 for the 3 rolls....because it would be worth it to me. The Morgan....not real sure...offer $12 and see how she reacts.

Good luck.

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ5, White's GM VSat
Common indians, about 70 cents each is what I would offer. 12 bucks seems right for the morgan. 7 or 8 times face for 90% silver coins.

It's more than a dealer will give, but still less than retail so you're not hurting youself, either.

Pennyworth

Bronze Member
Jan 1, 2006
$4.00 for 3 rolls of Indian Head cents! What a rip off, I wouldn't sell them to that coin shop if I were her.