your guess is as good as mine

M

mickey

pictured are 3 hardstone pieces that i found on the same site. i did not think much of the 1st one i found. i did not even record it as an artifact. i did not think much of the 2nd one i found. i thought it was only coincidence that it was the exact same size as the first one. when i found the 3rd one, i began to wonder a little. it was the exact same size as the 1st and 2nd pieces. all three were made of hardstone and do not really show any sign of workmanship. they all seem a little waterworn. maybe it's just me, but i am going to be keeping my eyes open on this site and future sites for pieces like these. i am not implying that they are artifacts, and i have never read anything in any book about anything even close to pieces like these being used for possible "game pieces". i would like to know if anyone out there may have found similar stones on their sites. i have been collecting for over 20 years, and i know an artifact when i see one, but these pieces have me stumped. any thoughts? ps., the sizes of the pieces are 4 1/2cm high, 3 1/2cm wide, and 1 1/2cm thick.

Attachments

• hardstone pieces.jpg
    hardstone pieces.jpg
    60.9 KB · Views: 536
Upvote 0

savant365

Silver Member
Mar 28, 2007
Northwest Missouri
Detector(s) used
ACE 250
Pretty interesting. I would have wondered about them too, a little too many for a coincidence. Do you know any of the history of the area? The fact that they don't show any "work" is kinda strange too. I am not saying they are any type of artifact either without some kinda proof but nature doesn't seem to make identical objects.

MEinWV

Bronze Member
Mar 10, 2007
West "by god" Virginia
Detector(s) used
Fishers CZ5 and 1280X
Maybe those folks saw something spiritual, or otherwise special about them and collected them much the same as we do now.