1814 Holed Capped Bust Dime!!!

bookfisher

Bronze Member
Jun 18, 2005
Long Island, New York
Yesterday, after searching for about an hour at a passive park in one of the oldest sections of a nearby town, I almost fell over when I pulled this coin out of the ground from 5 inches. It is the oldest American silver coin I've found and was just as thrilling as when I found my first large cent (1807, March 2005) and my oldest large cent (1795, August 2005).

Attachments

• bustdime.jpg
    bustdime.jpg
    28.2 KB · Views: 582
  • bustdime2.jpg
    bustdime2.jpg
    33.5 KB · Views: 584
Upvote 0
OP
OP
bookfisher

bookfisher

Bronze Member
Jun 18, 2005
Long Island, New York
Also, what made it even more exciting, is that I'm not an expert on 19th century U.S. coins, and when I lifted it from the hole, I was looking at the eagle on the reverse. I initially thought I had a Seated Liberty Dime, because I know a Seated Liberty Quarter has an eagle on the reverse, so when I flipped it over and saw the Capped Bust and the 1814 date, I was floored again.

OP
OP
bookfisher

bookfisher

Bronze Member
Jun 18, 2005
Long Island, New York
Klaatu said:
That's extra nice. Congrats!

Hello Klaatu,

By the way, I'm sorry for that rude post last night about the contractor's Capped Bust Half Dollar. I really didn't think you made the cleaning part up, but I did think you were passing on some misinformation about the story, since no where on the net, did it go into about the coin being cleaned. Again, sorry for the post. Also, very strange, because in the last 24 hrs I've thought about that 1817/14 Capped Bust half dollar a lot (and even showed my business partner the story on the net) and then today I dig up my first Capped Bust coin and it's an 1814 to boot. Weird.

Mona Lisa

Gold Member
Jan 13, 2005
Great Falls, Montana
Detector(s) used
White's DFX & a Sunray probe
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Congratulations. How are you going to top that this year? You started out 2006 with a bang.