A TRUE TREASURE HUNT.

loco oro

Aug 15, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
i have a project that i have been working on off and on for a few years,but i am now ready to take it to the next phase,and it will not just be a weekend excursion ,but will take a while.this project has a little bit for all walks of treasure hunting,from mding,prospecting/gem/mineral hunt,and very cool unsolved historical mystery for history buffs like myself.this thread is for all who want to contribute,knowledge ,expertise,and if anyone wants to participate ,boots on the ground so to speak.now i am going to start from the begining,i don't want to give exact location until i have secured access to the location,and there are several landowners involved.there is a massive hydrothermal lead/zinc deposit in my area,that outcrops on the surface over a fifty mile radius, now this galena is extremely rich in some of these outcrops that it only takes primary reduction to be usable lead.in this valley where the mines were located has a interesting past,during the revolution it was one of the few sources of lead for the war effort at that time,but being in hostile native territory,a fort was errected to protect the mine and miners.it was rebuilt on what is believed to be the original location,and it is likly that it is correct due to the remnants of a crude smelter/furnace which is documented to be inside the fort.it only operated for aprox 2years when sources were located elsewhere in friendlier territory.now the interesting part....the land grant was held at the time by the william penn family,and was sparsely inhabited by settlers,but it was known that there was a source of lead in the area prior to the war ,for the natives could procure amounts of lead ore within days of it being requested.when the commander was ordered to establish a mine and erect a fort,upon arrival it was discovered that there was already previous workings,hence the mystery.it is speculated that the early french tra