Barber Half and an SLQ from wayyyyy down deep.

silverfreak

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007
Wherever Silver's Hidin'
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorers and E-Trac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Barber Half and a SLQ from wayyyyy down deep.

Dave_IL and I got one last hunt in at one of our favorite fields this morning...right as the owner was finishing up planting. Unfortunately, it will be the last time we get to hunt it until harvest.
We have been hunting this field for many years, and the last 3 times here, we got nothing to show for it.

I decided to go old school, and get out my Fisher CZ for the first time in years. I also talked Dave into buying one, and his just came in yesterday. We just needed to change things up a bit to bring the excitement back.

I have been hunting for right at 50 years, and I truly feel there is nothing deeper on the planet, than a properly tuned Fisher CZ....and if you are lucky enough to have a Sunray FZ-12" coil to put on the end of it, then you know 12" deep silver coins are not uncommon.

No, I didn't take a pic of the hole with my Predator Raptor Digger buried in it, way past the end of the handle. 1) My battery on my phone was about to crap out...and 2) anybody can dig a deep hole, stick the digger in it, then take a pic.

What I can tell you is that my long time friend and fellow hunter, Dave was there to see it come out, and it was every bit of 13"+ deep.

I was also there to see his SLQ come out from 12"+ deep...and it was found with the stock 8" coil!

First words out of his mouth..."I'm a believer"
(I told him before he ordered it, that CZ's were deep seekers...if he didn't mind digging a little rusty iron on occasion.):laughing7: