DFX, XLT, or MXT

Just_Sean

Greenie
Sep 26, 2006
Troy, Ohio
Detector(s) used
Fisher
I am getting ready to buy a new detector and need some advice on which model to buy. I have been detecting for many years but don't consider myself a pro. I hunt strickly for older coins and I'm looking for a detector with pretty good depth. Woluld a MXT suit my needs or would I be better off spending the extra money for an XLT or DFX?

TonyinCT

Mar 14, 2006
Granby, CT
The MXT is a very versatile detector and you won't be sorry you bought one. For overall coinhunting the DFX is still better in my opinion. I use one as my primary detector because I love how it performs. If you can go for it

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you can, always go for the DFX. You will never be sorry. Better to have the top of the line than wonder what your missing...........LOL

Sandman

Junk Monkey

Greenie
Dec 10, 2005
Atlanta, GA
Detector(s) used
Whites V3I, Whites DFX and Fisher F75.
The DFX is not for the beginner, unless you are willing to spend the time learning the detector. The turn-on-and-go settings will get you in the ball park, but to really get the most out of the machine, you need to dedicate time that is both rewarding and frustrating. The reward WILL come. The frustration will be in the vast amount of information to digest. Is it worth it? You bet.

lobo

Tenderfoot
Jan 3, 2007
Montana
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Lobo, Whites MXT
Would the DFX also be good for nugget hunting? I am also thinking about the MTX but I will be mostly looking for coins and jewelry and nuggets very occasionally?

Jerry

TonyinCT

Mar 14, 2006
Granby, CT