Excelerator coil

minelab rick

Jul 1, 2006
Charlottesville, Va
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer XS
Hi Guys,
First post here. I've owned an Explorer XS for about 3 years and recently ordered a 14 inch Excelerator coil from Kelly Co. I hoped to recieve it before going to the Outer Banks, but as luck would have it, it showed up the week we were gone. have only been able to use it sporadiclly since June 26th and I am still learning it. Any feedback from anyone concerning the coil and tips would be greatly appreciated. Not getting the depth I thought I would and not sure where I should run my settings. As I stated earlier I have used the XS for three years and while I have played with the advanced, I use it in preset modes. Please educate me. Just reading the posts has helped me a great deal. Thanks in advance for any help.

R

rvbvetter

I've no experience with excelerator coils. But if its for coin hunting, 14 inch my be a bit much for individual coins. Poor seperation unless there's no trash.
Too many targets under the coil can easily blend or mask signals from good targets. I wouldnt go no more than 12". My preference is actually a 10" coil.
Sometime back someone here got the 14" excelerator coil for their ML Musketeer and was very dissapointed in the coils depth and/or poor performance. I've heard others complain as well about lack of depth of the excelerators.
I just read someone saying that the , I beleive it was sunray coils, are good. But I'll let someone else tell you about them. I haven't tried one. HH

lou423

Dec 14, 2005
S.W. Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Tesoro. Minelab. Fisher.
I hava a 5 inch excelerator coil...It is ok, but not great.
Your 14 inch coil should be good for the beach and when looking for a cache.
good luck...

bazinga

Silver Member
Oct 31, 2005
High Five!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting