Getting Permission

MADJOKER

Jun 25, 2011
Missouri City, TX
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Garrett Ace 350
Hello all! I am new to MD and this forum and after reading some of the post here, I hear people saying that they got permission to MD on someones property and was wondering how you go about asking people for that permission. Really what I am asking is what do you tell them you will be doing and do they ask things like"Are you going to split what you find" and things like that.

Thank You,
Mark

mfitzy111

Mar 6, 2011
NEPA
Detector(s) used
garrett ACE350 (traded off!), minelab E-TRAC, AT-Pro
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Mark,

I can tell you what has worked for me- and I learned some of these tips here. go with your wife or girl friend and introduce yourself- after knocking on their door or seeing the person out walking their dog. let them know your in to coin finding/hunting, and ask them if you can coin hunt on their property. do it in person - as over the phone and e-mail people tend to give lame excuses, like my insurance won't let this type of activity be allowed on my property (when they have boating/camping/cook outs and swimming- all way more dangerous then my coin recovery on their camp/lake site- but like I said lame excuses happen if your not in person).

when you first approach a person don't bring your detector. come back later with it.
carry business cards with your name and address -explaining your a coin hunter- or hobby metal detectorist- if that is what you want to do- as your asking it's good to have them on hand....

never use the word 'dig' in your discussion with the person your asking. (it tends to give the person the idea that your going to mess up their lawn with a shovel- working on a tunnel going to china.)