Harbor Freight sells a towable backhoe for only $3499

Clay Diggins

Silver Member
Nov 14, 2010
The Great Southwest
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Only if you have a claim and a Plan of Operation in effect. Motorized equipment, on public lands, is a no-no.
Jim
When did that happen Jim? I don't know of any such law or regulation.

I work in the industry and I know of several operations running motorized equipment on their claims with no plan of operation and the blessing of the BLM.

A POO is not required if there is no significant disturbance of surface resources. There are public lands where there are no surface resources to protect. There are ways of mining with motorized equipment that don't significantly disturb surface resources.

Best practices and good planning when dealing with surface resources are the standards. The goal of the law is to avoid unnecessary significant disturbance of surface resources - not to regulate motorized equipment use or mining methods.

Heavy Pans

hollARDog

Jun 18, 2022
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
harborfreight-coupons_224148.gif

🤘

Jim in Idaho

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2012
Blackfoot, Idaho
Detector(s) used
White's GM2, GM3, DFX, Coinmaster, TDI-SL, GM24K, Falcon MD20, old Garrett Masterhunter BFO
'Way Too Cool' dual 18 Watt UV light
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Clay, I wasn't aware of that! Fool that I am I simply assumed you couldn't use motorized equipment because they cause significant disruption of the ground. Are you saying I can use things like backhoes on public lands? I'd be amazed if the BLM in Idaho would OK that, but maybe I'm wrong. I know of some guys that used a hand-held diamond saw in Wyoming to saw through a 6" slab of rock, and got fined. You had to take a good look to even see what they did.
Jim

Clay Diggins

Silver Member
Nov 14, 2010
The Great Southwest
Primary Interest:
Prospecting