Hello, Can I get some Advice?

Crashcrain

Oct 11, 2011
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I am new to this site, I stumbled along it looking for ways to melt my fine Placer Gold on Google. It appears to be a pretty active site so I will be staying around for a while, but for the time being I have a few questions.

I am an 40yrs old and recently I went to Alaska for a pleasure trip. I decided to go and buy a pan at a hardware store and hit this small creek just outside of town and see how I did, I have never done that before. My wife mocked me up until the point I started showing her gold flakes in my pan, and then she wanted one. I didn't pan long and got about a gram of flake and fine gold. After I got back to the states I did a little research in my home state of Texas where there might be gold and low and behold, THERE AIN'T NONE. Well, at least not enough to even really work at it unless you are trespassing.

Frustrated, I went online and ordered some Paydirt from a company out of California and panned it to add to my small amount of gold. The gold was dengy compared to the Alaska gold but there was a bit in the 3lb bag. At this point I ordered a bag from 5 different companies and kept track of how much I found from each company so I could do a cost comparison and hopefully find that one was much better than the others. Sure as hell, one of the companies shipped me a two pound bag that not only had fine gold, but three nuggets 1/2 the size of a dime. So, the hook is set, I got the bug, the fever has run it's course.