Hello from Baytown Texas v3 or E-trac

Smokin_Cache

Jul 13, 2006
Gulf Coast Texas
Hello,

I am trying to decide which detector to purchase the E-trac or the v3. After reading the manuals I am leaning to the v3. From what I have read the parks in Baytown are open for hunting. I will more than like spend allot of time hunt the dry,wet sand also.

Can't wait to get started. I am also a ham radio operator and private pilot. Can't wait to use the plane to look for places to hunt.

Looks like there are a few others here close close to me on the gulf coast.

Smokin_Cache

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Re: Hello from Baytown Texas

I have not used the V3, but have the E-trec and after reading the manual I would go with the V3. But both are good detectors.

OP
OP
S

Smokin_Cache

Jul 13, 2006
Gulf Coast Texas

Thanks for the reply!

The etrac manual states that the unit chooses a freq. with no noise, so do it use 30 freq. simultaneously or does it just choose the quietest one or does it ignore the noisy ones? A little misleading and/or confusing. Being a HAM has me very curious about their claims. I would love to be able to find one locally to put on an analyzer and see what it is actually doing.

"Deep" such a relative word. By reading some of the posts about both detectors you would think I would need to buy a shoring box!!!

I am reading every post that I can find on both detectors to help with the decision.

Got wind today of where a $5000 ring was lost and never found. Would not reveal who lost it like they were no longer around or they didn't want the ring found. But got permission to hunt it about 10 minutes later. Can't wait until I make my mind up.

Smokin_Cache

Cherokee_Kidd

Feb 16, 2010