hunter_46356

Feb 12, 2012
Indiana/Florida
Detector(s) used
NOx 800, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Home made Mackirk sluice.

Being from IN most everything I’ll be doing will most likely be in streams. I like the idea of the Angus Mackirk sluice but don’t have the money to drop on finding flour gold, if you know what I mean. So being a carpenter by trade and recently retired I have more time than money and can make just about anything out a wood. On the Mackirk web site there is a cross section of the riffle style they use. I cut and fashioned something similar out of wood and glued it to a 1 x 8. I added some 1/8 x 1/8 drop riffles before and after each one with the idea of these areas should be low pressure areas as the water is flowing over the riffs and should help catch smaller gold. Started the project today and will try to post pics soon. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

OP
OP
hunter_46356

hunter_46356

Feb 12, 2012
Indiana/Florida
Detector(s) used
NOx 800, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Got it put together today, will seal and paint it tomorrow, here's some picks. The dimensions are 8"x36"x3-1/2" the riffles are 1/2"x2" set 2"apart. The small drop riffles in the deck and the one in the top of the wedge riffle are 1/8"x1/8". This is all by similar design of the Mackirk riffle. The only thing different is the distance between riffles. I think Mackirk's are actually back to back.

Attachments

• 100_0731.JPG
    100_0731.JPG
    54.8 KB · Views: 801
  • 100_0733.JPG
    100_0733.JPG
    37 KB · Views: 832
  • 100_0735.JPG
    100_0735.JPG
    61.9 KB · Views: 1,097
  • 100_0737.JPG
    100_0737.JPG
    29.9 KB · Views: 1,152
  • 100_0738.JPG
    100_0738.JPG
    37.1 KB · Views: 2,945

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump