Bronze Member
Sep 12, 2009
Hades
Detector(s) used
XP DÉUS, Minelab E-TRAC, Pro-Pointer, Hawk-like Vision, Receding Hairline
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Greetings to all...

I'm fairly new to prospecting but I've always liked rocks and geology and of course... coins and gold.

I have an opportunity to buy a Minelabs Sovereign GT at a decent price.

Does anyone use this metal detector for prospecting for gold? Is t any good for locating gold?
How do you find the product overall :)?

Any replies would be appreciated :)

Have a nice day,

Gio

Upvote 0

Olegrumpy

Apr 28, 2009
Detector(s) used
Sov GT-Explorer II-Goldbug Pro-Eurotek Pro-Classic III-Golden µMAX-1212-x-SH MKII-
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Hello,

I'm just negociating a five months old GT. Gathered some infos on the unit, suits my needs as a beach hunter.

On their new site, http://www.minelab.com/emea/consumer, Minelab consider the Sov GT, with its grouns balanced (accu track) all metal mode, as a gold detector too, though I read somewhere that it would not be able to detect the tiniest flakes.

That makes this unit a great all rounder. You might want to complement it with some specialty coils, like a smaller one.

HH

OP
OP
GioTheGreek

GioTheGreek

Bronze Member
Sep 12, 2009
Hades
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Thank you my Belgian friend!!

I'll keep that in mind today... while I consider purchasing the unit.

There is alot of history in this part of Canada I am in... and it would be great for coin and relic hunting, Id just like to kill two birds with one stone if I can :)

OP
OP
GioTheGreek

GioTheGreek

Bronze Member
Sep 12, 2009
Hades
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Well I took your advice, and read a few more reviews...

I found a deadly deal on the Xterra 70 at Kelly...

499$!!

It's ordered, now I just need to sort out the shipping. Can't wait to get out and learn how to use it :P

gary in idaho

May 7, 2008