Neighbor puttin in a new lawn!

Mudslide

Sep 18, 2005
Brandon,VT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
:D
I asked the guy 3 doors down if I could do his yard since his grass was gone and he had not replanted it yet. Found 2 wheat pennies and a couple of memorials, a dime and this .925 silver ring. Since I am new to this hobby it was rather exciting for me. I shined it up and gave it to the guy for his wife or sister. On our street the houses were built in the 20's. I have found pennies as old as 1917, but no old nickels, dimes or quarters. Did they not lose these types of coins back then? ???

Attachments

• Silver Ringsm 10-06-05.jpg
    Silver Ringsm 10-06-05.jpg
    16.8 KB · Views: 509
Upvote 0

Calico Jack

Sep 20, 2005
Los Angeles
Detector(s) used
Ace 350
Back then, a nickel, dime, and certainly a quarter were worth looking for. I remember back in my day, when a dime was worth something. You could buy a steak dinner, a scoop of ice cream, a pair of shoes, two tickets to the World's Fair, and still have enough left over to make a down payment on one of those newfangled gasoline auto-mobiles. My pappy used to say, "When you drive the auto-mobile, watch out for pigeons," which were always on the road until the Kaiser captured them all to use for communicating with the Masons during the war... Sorry, what was I talking about? ???

Nice ring.

Leon

Silver Member
Jul 2, 2004
Indy
Detector(s) used
Cz3d
Great looking ring, WTG!!!
Nice of you to let them have it, good P.R., maybe they can turn you on to some other great spots...
I remember back as a kid in the early 60's a quarter would buy ya a donut, and a coke/ or chocolate milk, and still have enough change left over to pitch in on a pack of $0.32 cent cigarettes...
Good luck & Happy hunting~

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
COOL Ring.

Jeff

kermit

Aug 9, 2005
Mississippi
Detector(s) used