New here - intro & a few quick questions

Mint_2k

Jan 22, 2012
Texas
Primary Interest:
Other
New here - intro & a few quick questions

Hi.

I'm very new to prospecting. In fact, other than panning for gold, at a gold mine tour in Colorado, I'm 100% new.

I live in Texas, in the NW Houston area, and we like to go camping a lot, and don't mind driving. I'm hoping to cut my teeth by taking a trip to North Carolina for some real prospecting. I was thinking of trying out Lucky Strike, but I've read there are several locations in that area I can try. After a little deliberation, I decided to put a highbanker together. I'm going to use a KEENE A52 sluice and a GMS hopper combo with a 2.5 HP pump.

Does anyone here know if the Jobe sluice stand that bolts to the side Of the sluice box works with the A52 KEENE w/o blocking the riffle tray? Based on what I've read, that sluice stand may cause problems with the riffle lift tray on some models, so I was wondering if anyone here has tried this combination.

If anyone has any other suggestions please chime in - I certainly appreciate the input.
:read2:

-Larry

russau

Gold Member
May 29, 2005
St. Louis, missouri
Re: New here - intro & a few quick questions

yes it will block the riffel tray from completely closeing. but you can make a stand,w/legs with their adjustable setups on a metal base for your sluice and just weld the adjustable leg part onto that frame. i made my own and thats what i did and it works fine. OR you could use some counter sunk screws from the inside out, and counter sink the sluice sides with a nylock nut on the outside and itll work OK if you C.S. the sides enough.

OP
OP
Mint_2k

Mint_2k

Jan 22, 2012
Texas
Primary Interest:
Other

russau said: