New to Tnet,looking for advice.

Metfan

Greenie
Oct 8, 2009
Good day everyone.I'm new to TreasureNet,just registered today.First let me apologize for not quite knowing where to ask a question.I have been reading about everyones finds for months and I'm truly amazed by the various treasures that you guys have dug up.I'm tired of just reading about them,I want to start finding them for myself.I am going to purchase my first detector in the next week or two and would like to know your opinions on what would be a good detector for a beginner,as myself.At this time I'm not looking to spend more than $500.00.I have heard that the Ace 250 is a good detector for beginners,but thought I would pose the question to those who have been there done that.Thanks to you all for posting all your great finds and getting me interested in a new exciting hobby.

Good luck & Happy Hunting!

ashleysflyr

Jan 2, 2008
Missouri
Detector(s) used
WHITE'S MXT (and man is she hot!)
I wish that I had started with a white's MXT, but I had a Bounty Hunter 505. Not a bad machine, but I agree with Rando...go for something nicer...ace 250 is a wonderful machine (especially for beginners) but, if you get hooked like I did, you will outgrow the ace 250 quickly. On the other hand, there are people that make amazing finds consistanly with the ace 250, and use nothing else. I call them prodigies...I can admit, I need a better machine to find the finds I find...that's a lot of "finds"! White's makes a great product and they stand behind it...you won't be dissapointed!

~Tom

relic lover

Bronze Member
Jul 4, 2006
Western PA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE With a plethora of coils
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have done great with the ace 250 heck made the banner even! Great beginner machine and good for old pros too. Don't forget all the extra coils and a pinpointer plus a high quality digger that cost money too. with the ace you can be fully outfitted for under $500.

diggummup

Gold Member