Newbie here...needs help and suggestions

Broevol

Tenderfoot
Apr 23, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
After receiving my new fisher F2 in the mail today, I quickly unpacked it, attached the 8" coil and started to hunt. I live on an old 3 acre farm that was build in 1860, so I was expecting to find some real goodies my first time out. After 3 hours of hunting, I have a pile full of junk: scrap iron, parts off combines, tractors, license plates, bridal bits...the list goes on...and not one single coin.... So the question is....either I have no idea what I'm doing or this farm has already been picked over. I spent most of my hunting using the nickel and up settings....but after getting frustrated I moved to dime and quarter only....and I was still digging up junk. I did notice not a single one of my hits was shallow, everyone registering full bars of depth, and everything i dug up was deep...6 plus inches. Will coins be this deep as well? Do I need the 11" coil? Should I switch to the 4" because I have a lot of trash? thanks,
Darin

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to treasurenet and to the world of metal detecting.....

Guess what, you got your first lesson today and it was..............You don't always find the good stuff.

When you see people posting nice finds here you only get to see the good stuff they found, you dont see all the trash dug..... Your not always going to find good stuff, right now you should just concentrate on learning your detector and not on the fact "I didnt find any old silver"...... It takes time to learn this hobby...

Good luck and good hunting....

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used