Photographic glow

panthr

Apr 7, 2009
I am just curious. I have heard from a friend of mine who has done some treasure hunting that sometimes buried gold will give off a glow in photographs taken at night. Now this friend sometimes is a little "out there" but I am just curious if any of you have heard of anything similar. When I showed him the attached pic, his eyes nearly popped out and swore that there is gold buried here. Was he pulling my leg, serious, or seriously crazy? I am a total newbie at this!

house.jpg

OP
OP
P

panthr

Apr 7, 2009
I should mention that this photo was taken in complete darkness with no flash or anything.

K

Kentucky Kache

Some people say it's absolutely true. I can't say by experience, but I don't like to rule out anything without good reason. Talk to Real de Tayopa, I think he's had some experience with that.

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Can't think of any physical property of gold that would make it do that, but if it works for you go for it.

Just don't invest any money up front. ;-)

It should also work for platinum and mercury as they are right next to gold on the periodic table. The only reason gold is "better" than other elements is because humans deem it so. Cosmically it is a pretty ho-hum element.

Nov 8, 2004
Alamos,Sonora,Mexico
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
good morning, May I ask just why you took that picture in complete darkness in the first place? And yes, metals under certain conditions do degrade and in the process give off a visible gas, the color of which is apparently determined by the major metal constituent.