Poop tube clean out

Jakel

Mar 31, 2014
Edmonton
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I am new to prospecting and need some help. I have gone to the river and classified gold baring dirt through a 20mesh into a bucket. Now I have brought it home and after watching you tube videos I have built a milers table and poop tube. I found it was taking forever to extract the gold on the table so I build the poop tube today. My question is: how often should I be cleaning out the tube? I have two 5 g pails sitting and want to run them. My goal is to get enough gold to purchase a prospectors license so I can bring a sluice to the river(which I am making myself)

Upvote 0

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I'd say first try running all 10 gal thru the little sluice at once, then run what it catches on the table. Set aside whatever gold you get.

Then run half the material thru those steps again and see if you catch anything at all. If yes, run the rest, if no...you are done...and I'll bet that's what you find.

However if you have lots of heavy iron sand which fills all the tube riffles, you may find some gold the second time...depends on the paydirt you are running.

PS good luck and good gold to you!

PPS what state/city are you in?

OP
OP
Jakel

Jakel

Mar 31, 2014
Edmonton
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Thanks a bunch. I'm in Edmonton Alberta Canada. I got the dirt from the north Saskatchewan river.

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Thanks a bunch. I'm in Edmonton Alberta Canada. I got the dirt from the north Saskatchewan river.