Slave tag

DoranHashemi

Mar 12, 2013
Savannah, Georgia
Detector(s) used
White's Spectra V3i
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Old man showed us this. I almost fainted. Looks like a slave tag. He said it was. He's been detecting for 30 years and found this in South Carolina Any experts? image.jpg

cw0909

Silver Member
Dec 24, 2006
Primary Interest:
Other
im no expert,but ive seen i think 2 here B4,sorry i cant find the links, good news i think it is a slave tag
just awesome,could you give more on where your friend found it,this isnt the link i was looking for,but
you should be able to see,if i find the other links ill post them what a fantastic find
just adding it is known as a slave hire badge,the slave was hired out for x amount of time
US Slave: Cast in Bondage: Charleston Slave Tags and Slave Badges
badges%u00252BCharlestonSlaveTags1L.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 0

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Slave Tags are so Rare I am always very Leary of any that are dug.

I just wonder how many Fantasy pieces are lost out there,
compared to the real Things.

That said I'm no expert.
Just Cautious till an Expert opinion is included.

Upvote 0

mcb66

Mar 17, 2009
This is one of the most faked SC artifacts. Always beware or at least be aware when dealing with these.

Upvote 0

CoilyGirl

Gold Member
Nov 8, 2012
Nashville
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab x-Terra 505
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Keeping my eye out on this thread. I sure hope what you found is real as they are very hard to come by as Jeff said.

Upvote 0

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
just Remember the Best way to Fake (age) a Counterfeit Relic is to Bend, Burn and/or Bury it
for a good 20 years if they have the time :thumbsup:
wont fool an Expert, But May fool Me if I dug it :tongue3: