Tommi

Sep 19, 2005
Australia
Detector(s) used
Famous-Trails-MD9100 ACE250-PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Dear Sirs and Madams

I'm pretty new to the TH'ing scene, so please bare with me.

If a ship went aground on a sandy beach and became shipwrecked, over maybe 4 hundred years would it become submerged into the sand and eventually become a sand dune?

Has anyone ever found a shipwreck above ground.... buried?

Kind regards
Tom.

OP
OP
Tommi

Tommi

Sep 19, 2005
Australia
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Re: Spanish Gallion

Thanks for your reply PC,

I must say I love those pics you took of the cannons, great work!

The ship I'm chasing, is suppose to have been shipwrecked on a sand island, now I need some feed back on theories, I speculate that ship hit bad weather, scared it might hit a reef, the captain headed for a lagoon opening on the island seeking shelter.
The ship may have accessed the lagoon area on a high tide, next day tide dropped, ship remained high and dry and could of sustained damage.
Something may have occurred such as the crew being killed by natives, died of lack of food/water etc.
Ship remained in lagoon.

Now because it is a sand island and most of lagoon now is covered up, I believe that the somehow the ship may have broken up or maybe turned on its side and became buried under layer and layer of sand. 400 yrs ago the sand levels would of been lower and over the years the sand has become higher making sand dunes etc.

So, I'm looking for a odd looking sand dune.

All I'm going by is local myth and legend, but I believe I can locate it in good time.

Tom.

Treasure Seeker

Sep 7, 2005
Appleton, WI
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI-2500, Garrett ACE 250, Garrett Pro-Pointer AT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Welcome to the Forum!