This one has been asked at least 100 times.

coolpix9

Bronze Member
Jan 17, 2007
Primary Interest:
Other
I am new to the MD game and one of my many questions is as follows. If money was no object(except maybe that $4500 MD), would I be better off buying an El Cheapo to learn with and then buy what I think I really want to end up with once I get passable results with the cheaper one. I am mainly going to search old homesites and poke around for coins. The closer I get to becoming a relic myself,the more I get interested in finding some. Thanks, Jim

Upvote 0
coolpix9 said:
The closer I get to becoming a relic myself,the more I get interested in finding some.
LOL! Don't think about it like that. Think fine wine, Jim!

I wouldn't say to start off with a lower-end model. Depending on where you're hunting, your better targets may be deeper, out of the range of a lower-end detector. I would say get the best (or one of the best) detectors you can afford, and get started on the learning curve. Maybe a higher-end White's or Minelab.

If money is no object, get a higher end model of any of the major brands. If you buy something inexpensive it could be so disappointing that you give up. With a higher end model, you will learn to use it as you go and you'll never be sorry. Most of the machines today are great, so just take a chance on one of them and go for it. Don't delay, even a fine wine can turn to vinegar. LOL