Jovan421

Greenie
Apr 16, 2012
Florida
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
hello im new to coin roll hunting. Me and my daughter started messing around with getting pennies to look for wheats etc.. have gotten a few halves only like 10-$20 i want to really kick it up and be able to be going through boxes every week. What are some tips to breaking the ice to inform the teller that you want them to order halves for you weekly. Dont they ask you why? if so what do you say? what are some good things i can say to win them over and set up the orders. thanks

Upvote 0

Solid Rolls

May 8, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First off, don't be shy about it. Remember you have the account there, so you are the customer. The worst case scenario is they say no, and you walk out no worse for the wear.

Whenever I go into a new "order" bank, I walk up to the next available teller and ask them first if they have any Half Dollars. Nine times out of ten they say no. Then I ask about ordering Half Dollars. Usually they have to ask the Vault or Lead Teller if they can do that. I then strike up a conversation with the Lead Teller. HONESTY is ALWAYS the best policy. If they should ask why I want so many coins, I always reply that I am a collector. I assure them that I will be there the same day the coins arrive to pick up my order, and that I will not under any circumstances bring the coins back to them for deposit. In my experience the biggest concerns all Lead Tellers have about ordering Half Dollars is that they won't be picked up or they will be searched and brought right back. As long as you can assuage those fears you should be in the clear.

Confidence, Honesty, and Promptness is all it takes.

Good Luck and Happy Hunting!!

Last edited:

fistfulladirt

Gold Member
Feb 21, 2008
Great Lakes State
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
dirtfishing
Primary Interest:
Other