Very detailed 1877 Seated Dime

Wallhangers

Jul 28, 2008
SW Michigan
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Minelab Explorer SE Pro, T2 SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am no expert at grading coins, but I know this one is 100 times better than the 1854 dime I found earlier this year. What would this grade? Also, what is your opinion of the mint mark on the back. It looks like a square and I assume it was an 0 or S, but just can't tell. I can't seem to get close-ups any better or detailed to show you. Too bad it has a few old scratches across the chest. I found an 1899 barber quarter a couple nights ago on the bordering property. The house that sits at this site is only about 20 years old but it sits opposite corners from a school dating back into the 1890's and next door to a house that dated back into the 1870's. I only hunted tonight for 20 minutes because the mosquitos were unbelievable. Trust me, I wanted to stay but couldn't. I dug a few clad coins, a wheat in the 50's, and a lantern base (pat. date 1872). I have permission to hit this yard anytime along with another lot he owns next to it. I think I will come back during the day when the mosquitos are laying low.

100_1987.jpg

100_1989.jpg

Upvote 0

hogge

Silver Member
Mar 13, 2008
Pittsfield Ma.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T-2SE--Whites Prism IV
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
1877 s. Grade F-12 maybe F-20. :( Nice find though. I love the Seated coins! Congrats.....Hogge :thumbsup:

OP
OP
Wallhangers

Wallhangers

Jul 28, 2008
SW Michigan
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks Hogge! I don't sell any of the coins I find so the value doesn't mean much. I appreciate you grading it for me. I haven't seen enough of these to know what more to look for, I just know this one came out of the hole lookin' pretty nice.

minton7

Mar 28, 2007
south central ohio
Detector(s) used
White's Spectrum XLT