What do you personally look for in thrift stores/garage sales?

diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The main thing I look for is vintage/antique glass and glassware. You have to know what your looking for/at though. That's why it can still be found. Most people don't know a whole lot about glass. "College" being the exception, i'll give him that much (sorry that's an inside joke :wink:). I'm still learning something new everyday. The makers, patterns and styles seem endless. I have found everything from vintage toys, vintage clothing, collectible art pottery, old porcelain, jewelry a time or two, even an occasional book worth reselling. When I go into a thrift store, my options run through the whole store.

clorox

Jun 1, 2012
Northern California
Primary Interest:
Other
There's no single area that I know a lot about, so I have to go with my gut instinct a lot. I take a lot of time to go through everything when I find a sale or store with what I think is a promising selection. When I'm looking at things that I don't know much about, I'll think about the attributes of the item: Is it old? Is it well-made? Is it made by a well-known company, and does it have the markings of any other companies? Does the item have any iconic qualities? Is it complete? Was it made to do a specific job, to look good, or both? Is it the sort of item that is supposed to last a long time? Is it a "consumable" item? Is it in good condition? Is there any wear on the item, and is that wear consistent with its primary purpose? Is it something that is generally not available for sale to the public? If I was looking to buy this particular item, where would I look? And how long would I expect to search before I find it? Is there a modern equivalent to the item, and is the modern equivalent significantly different?

If it ticks off enough boxes and the price is good then I'll go for it.

Chisos

Aug 29, 2012