What kind of Tot Lots?!

Mvgirl

Aug 6, 2018
Detector(s) used
Bounty hunter land ranger pro, garrett carrot
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi, Im new to metal detecting and want to know what kind of tot lots/playgrounds are good to hunt. I means there's school playgrounds, neighborhood playgrounds (like small ones down the street), and more busy playgrounds in beaches and parks. Also which spots on playground also you find most of the good stuff? So far I've done a park down my street and found a 1919 dime, a 1958 dime, a silver brooch a buried pile of 50 pennies (modern), and at least $10 in clad. In a different small run down park with grass growing in the sand TWO 925 silver rings!!! I'm thinking i should start using my MD with no descrimination because first of all any machine cold miss good stuff that way but also mine is only a bounty hunter jr. that I got for $80 so doesn't do a great job. (I know I know I REALLY want a better one!!!)

xr7ator

Gold Member
Sep 2, 2011
Denver, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Gold, ATX, MH7 (oldie!) Minelab Explorer SE Pro, EQ800
Well obviously you want to work the one's where folks have lost the most! Just keep working it. If it were me I'd work the areas where the old stuff is being found and don't forget to dig the iffy targets as most public spots have been hit more than once since the 70's. I like finding old stuff over a high producing clad area.
I always like to work areas that are under construction where they have removed or moved some dirt around. Hit areas that others don't or won't for some reason..think ouotside the box. The little patch next to the entrance of the park. Everyone goes into the park and detects but no one checked up there!
You'll have that BH paid for in no time with finds. This will allow you to justify paying for another machine. Good luck up thar!

Last edited:
OP
OP
Mvgirl

Mvgirl

Aug 6, 2018
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting