Why does trash read as silver?

halgreene

Greenie
Apr 20, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi,

I've been trying to dig a little less trash lately (newbie here, Fisher F5), so I've set the disc fairly high (65). But I still get solid hits in the 80's and 90's that turn out to be trash (pieces of rusty iron and can slaw, mostly). My question is: Why? What am I doing wrong? How am I misinterpreting the signal? (Or am I?) Is there a way to interpret the pinpoint signal to get a better read on what's down there before I dig?

Thanks,

Hal

Rusty iron fools every machine I have owned. While it is in the ground my detectors act like it is something wonderful. Someone will come along with the scientific explanation, but you might as well turn your discrimination back down because you are always going to be dealing with it. You can, by raising your detector up, sometimes get a sense if the signal is something large, rather than small like a coin, which can help you decide to dig or not.

For in-depth understanding read the following articles. I would suggest reading only half of the first one at one sitting, come back another day and finish it, go for a hunt, read it again.
Your will be very happy you did.
Truth About Search Coils

Halo Effect

As was suggested, allow iron to be heard, you will most likely find an iron target within the distance of your coil size someplace around the target.. i.e. target in the center there will be iron hit within a coils width/length of what you think is a the good target..

Last edited:
Dig everything. Discriminating detectors are notorious liars.

Use the force Luke..:laughing7: and blank out your ID screen.

SS

Attachments

• th.jpg
    th.jpg
    8.3 KB · Views: 164
Last edited:
Not an experienced metal detector, but do have a background in metallurgy. Keep in mind that iron and steel both have numerous other metals in them that are added during the refining process, so not sure if that may be giving false signals.