Need help identifying and dating Virginia artifacts

Creekhound

Tenderfoot
Mar 11, 2017
Virginia
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I have a bunch of artifacts that I've found in Virginia that I need some help identifying and dating. I'm fairly new to artifact hunting and am in need of someone's expertise. I can't seem to find a whole lot of info or examples of most of the stuff that I've been finding. I have found slate and Quartz/quartzite tomahawk heads, hammers, knives, scrapers, spear points, handles, and some arrowheads. A few pieces are made of a couple other types of rocks as well. One piece is a green and black Jasper I believe. Most of the pieces were found surface hunting around a creek that's right next to the river. I would appreciate anyone that could help me figure out exactly what I've got and how old or from what period it is from. I'm guessing a few of my pieces are a little rare since I can't seem to find any examples like them anywhere (or I'm just not looking in the right place lol). Thanks!👍

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    489.3 KB · Views: 110
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    258 KB · Views: 102
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    464 KB · Views: 98
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    738.1 KB · Views: 109
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    700.2 KB · Views: 95
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    95.6 KB · Views: 97
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 96
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    394.6 KB · Views: 92
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    415.3 KB · Views: 100
Upvote 0

sandchip

Silver Member
Oct 29, 2010
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have to agree with Bandit, but by all means, don't be discouraged and keep on looking. You'll find something good eventually, and then everything will start to click in regards to the characteristics of the worked items you're looking for.

OP
OP
C

Creekhound

Tenderfoot
Mar 11, 2017
Virginia
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting