!st upgrade-pinpointer or coil?

ground pirate

Jan 10, 2013
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I can only get one or the other for now-either a Garrett pinpointer or 5.75 dd coil. I'd like to go out and do some gold hunting, on other hand I have read on several threads how the pinpointer will make the detecting that much easier, I live in a high mineralization area and am wondering which id get more out of at this point, in that I am just starting out in the hobby.

Meant to put 1st not !st on thread title

Last edited:

Metal Detecting Stuff

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Mar 19, 2012
Spring TX
Detector(s) used
CTX3030/F75LTD/ Garrett AtPro/ XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
They both have good value - the DD coil will allow you to separate targets better in trashy areas. The Propointer will reduce your recovery time by 40-60 %, allowing you to dig more targets in a hunt.

Wayne

www.metaldetectingstuff.com

atomicscott

Bronze Member
Aug 18, 2011
Riverside CA
Detector(s) used
Current: Nokta Makro Simplex+, Teknetics Patriot, Fisher Gold Bug (original), GP Pinpointer (Garrett Clone) Lesche. Owned: Omega 8000, Minelab X-Terra 505, Fisher F2, Tesoro Vaquero, & Compadre, Whit
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Definitely go for the coil. You cant hunt nuggets well at all without a DD coil. The blacksand/mineralization will drive the stock coil crazy.

SusanMN

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2007
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark, Xterra 705, Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Propointer most definitely. The small coil will be used or needed for some hunts. The pinpointer is something that can help you on every hunt.

chinchilla

Dec 18, 2009
Detector(s) used
Tesoro, White's
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
if you are going for gold, it's a no brainer, a DD coil. Most real prospectors don't use pinpointers anyways and first you need to find the gold, then you have to dig it

Sandman

Gold Member