Summer Sift

eastTNJoe

Mar 4, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I had lots of time today to look. I went back to a spot that I had found a knife at a few weeks ago. I thought I would try something new, so I made a small sifter from a plastic tub. I tried it out right up against the waterline at a few spots without any luck at all for 2 hours. I found only a few pieces of chipped flint. I did manage to spot another uni-face knife(I think?) tumbling in the wash. I moved to one last spot before heading home and found a whole point. Then I found 2 more within a foot of the first and in the next 15 minutes. I made a mental note of that particular shore so I could check it out again. A great start to summer!
20130524_195749.jpg I'm still learning, but would appreciate suggestions...I think I found: an attempt at a knife, a blunt, a Rheems Creek/Halifax?, and a Bugs Island/New Market?

Upvote 0

rock

Gold Member
Aug 25, 2012
South
Detector(s) used
Coin Finder
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Wow those are some great finds. You did good. Cant help you on the ID but id be happy with that return.

GatorBoy

Gold Member
May 28, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That's sifting!
Looks like you found a good spot.. bet you will wind up wearing gloves with rubber bands around your wrists after you wear the skin off your fingertips..LOL.
Nice finds!
Get some cheap pressure treated 1"x 2" 's and make two frames..put some 1/4" hardware screen between them and screw them together. .. works great.
Great for fossil hunting too if you do that.

OP
OP
eastTNJoe

eastTNJoe

Mar 4, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That's sifting!
Looks like you found a good spot.. bet you will wind up wearing gloves with rubber bands around your wrists after you wear the skin off your fingertips..LOL.
Nice finds!
Get some cheap pressure treated 1"x 2" 's and make two frames..put some 1/4" hardware screen between them and screw them together. .. works great.