What type of metal.....

canaddar

Greenie
Nov 2, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all,

I am fairly new to metal detecting. I have been going at it for a few weeks now. I have actually found a bit of jewelry which is leading to some serious research to figure out what things are.

So far, I have the basic check of 'is it magnetic?' to week out the real trash from potential good finds. Beyond that, I look for markings such as 925 (92.5% silver) that can be stamped on an item.

What about the items that are older (pre stamps such as 14k, 925 and the like were common)? Or items that just don't have any markings (such as my Navajo bracelet that is broken and missing a part). How do I tell what these items are? I have seen some chemical testing methods, but I am guessing that there is something less complicated than dumping boric acid on your kitchen counter.

Any tips, tricks or methods to learn what type of metal jewelry items are made from?

Many thanks for the help!

Upvote 0

Rawhide

Silver Member
Nov 17, 2010
SouthWestern USA
Detector(s) used
Nox 800, Etrac, F75, AT Pro. Last two for sale.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
keep them in a box till you get better at identifying. There is a few test. Look up mustard test.

Carolina Tom

Gold Member
Apr 4, 2014
Charlotte
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus V3.2 9" & 11" Coils, AT Pro, ProPointer AT, Lesche 55, 75 & 80LT
Primary Interest:
Other
Silver and gold come out of the ground looking solid. Silver usually has dark gray/black tarnish on it. Gold shines like the day it made. Plated piece usually have a spot where the plating is popping off of the item. If there no pops and the item is heavy for it's size, then it is most likely the real deal.

There are a bunch of "tests"... however, a close examination usually suffices.

Best of luck to you!

digger27

Bronze Member
May 18, 2011