Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am an expert downsizer. First get rid of all garbage. Every last scrap or broken thing you don't want to fix. That's round one. Then, do a "Goodwill tour". Look for usable stuff you don't really want and take a trip to Goodwill or any other charity you want. OR have a yard sale. I found out those here are about worthless.

Look at pieces of boards, bricks, lumber, etc. that won't be used. Broken tools. That 7th bucket. We only need 6. After all that was gone, I found a few good tools I didn't want and gave them to a couple neighborhood guys who do me favors. Works well.

After all has settled. Go through the books and magazines. We don't need more than a few magazines at a time, and the DVD's and other tape devices.

Antiques, firearms, coins, sell with a reputable dealer or dealers. I sold one Civil War gun this year I just didn't want anymore. Duplicate old pots and pans. Broken kids toys. The whole nine yards. And it will take a long time. Each piece needs to be thought out.

One horrible project is to go through photos and old papers. I shredded a pickup truck's worth over the last few years. They got recycled.

You can do garbage and just plain junk first, then either do it by what sticks out as a useless thing to you or do it a room at a time. I only required two SUV loads (small ones) to the dump to get rid of fluorescent light fixtures and some kerosene cans and the old kerosene heater. So most stuff went a little at a time.

OP
OP
Peyton Manning

Peyton Manning

Gold Member
Dec 19, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
MXT-PRO
Sandshark
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Are you absolutely sure six buckets are enough?

Doubter in MD

Bronze Member
Jan 18, 2013
Maryland
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting