Is the Etrac worth it?

the_mad_cladder

Jan 2, 2015
North Carolina
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus with all the coils, MI-6 pinpointer, Ace350 and Garrett pro pointer.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've been using an Ace 350 for a couple years with minimal success. I like what I see about the Etrac in reviews and posts and am considering buying one. Will a few inches land me more silver? I seem to get all the wheat pennies from unhunted areas but rarely any silver. I found 8 wheaties in my girlfriends yard last week but no silver. Does silver typically end up deeper somehow? IMG_20151011_154609.jpg Whats your deepest coin with the etrac?

DeepseekerADS

Gold Member
Mar 3, 2013
SW, VA - Bull Mountain
Detector(s) used
CTX, Excal II, EQ800, Fisher 1260X, Tesoro Royal Sabre, Tejon, Garrett ADSIII, Carrot, Stealth 920iX, Keene A52
Primary Interest:
Other
If it ain't there you ain't gonna dig it up.

The Etrac is heavy, and the Etrac is frustrating. But if you take the time to learn the machine and the sounds - may take 100 hours to learn - you'd be unwilling to go back to the Ace 350 at gun point. With many machines on the market being "fast", the Etrac is a slow swing. You won't cover the same amount of territory as the Ace - if you do you're swinging too fast. But, what you will be doing is scanning deep and intelligently. It's an intelligent machine best paired with a patient user.

The Etrac IS a beast.

Last edited:

Fletch88

Silver Member
Mar 7, 2013
Valdosta, GA
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATPro- 8.5x11, 5x8, CORS Fotune 5.5x9.5
Tesoro Silver microMax- 8 donut, 8x11 RSD, 3x18 Cleansweep
Minelab Excalibur ll- 10" Tornado
Minelab CTX 3030
Minelab Xterra 305
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting